Margaret Dickinson

underline 3 people

CADS, formed in 1988 by Skegness youngster, Matthew Dickinson, had the aim of giving young people the opportunity to experience all aspects of theatre both on and off stage. They became Skegness Playgoers CADS (Children's Amateur Drama Section) in September 1998, with the intention of carrying this forward. CADS performed The Thwarting of Baron Bolligrew by Robert Bolt at The Embassy Theatre, Skegness in 1999 followed by The Genie of Sutton Place, Will Shakespeare Save Us, Will Shakespeare Save The King and The Three Musketeers. In 2002 the juniors created and performed Death at the Circus and the seniors devised The Old Man's House. Both of these were possible because of huge contributions in time, effort and skill from Alan and Liz Watkins-Grove. There are regular meetings during term time (See Current events) and CADs participate in the Youth Festival and have entered other drama festivals. CADs have devised their own one-act plays for several Festivals. Lana Proud, Margaret Jarvis, Andrea Hall and Jez Beckett lead the youngsters through 2005. Margaret and Andrea have been joined in 2006 by Donna Epton, Emma Hrycak and Sarah Quimby.


The Winner receives the Gertrude Nelson Memorial Trophy given by Nelson's Jewellers of Drummond Road, Skegness, in memory of a long-time chairman of Playgoers. This was donated by Skegness Rotary Club to celebrate the founding of the Skegness Children's Amateur Drama Society in 1989. The Stuart Parkins Trophy is for A Special Moment of Theatre and was donated by Stuart to mark his winning an award from Skegness Lions for his work with CADS. The Watkins-Groves trophy for best original script or adaptation was added in 2002 by Alan and Liz Watkins-Groves. They were hugely influential in advancing CADs from 2000 to 2002. Their move to Lincoln is a great loss to us and a great gain for Lincoln. The Sue Sharman and Andrea Hall Trophies were added in 2005 by current members of the Society for the best young actor and actress. Details for the SEAS Programme are shown on the Current Events Page.